NEVER MOURN AT MY FUNERAL


image

http://www.facebook.com/rowspoetry

Never mourn at my funeral
For I’m not dead but resting
On Abraham’s bosom
Waiting for the call of resurrection
Never mourn at my funeral
You who come in view to mourning
But in you, you’re here to mock
For my poetry exposes your deeds
Do my body what you wish
Please, let it be dismembered
To gratify your ruthless visit
Never mourn at my funeral
You the insect that bites my leafy fame
With your toothless mouth of libel
And you who want my fish
To dive in a dry earth
Throw my carcass into a sea of your lot
Like where brother Jonah fell,
But it will be your endless shame
For I’ve seen beyond the river bank of Joppa
Never mourn at my funeral
You that come in my Maker’s name
Just to bless my end
Go thy way and search for lost souls
In the forest of lust and doom
Wear them a garment of gospel
Before they lie low beside me
And journey hell eternal
Never mourn at my funeral
But mourn for we’re all debtors of death
Written by: James T. Abel Adesitimi

Leave a Reply

